Mississauga, ONT. – The Travel Industry Council of Ontario (TICO) held its Annual General Meeting (AGM) on June 25, 2019 to share the organization’s accomplishments from the previous fiscal year.

A key theme at the AGM was the continuous evolution of the travel industry: “We live and work in an exciting era, one in which change is a constant and where innovation is increasingly important,” said Richard Smart, TICO’s President and CEO.  “The everchanging landscape of the travel industry is what makes TICO’s role so important - to ensure consumers remain confident with their travel purchases, wherever they go, regardless of purpose or destination.”

The updates from Jean Hébert, TICO’s Chair and Richard Smart, TICO’s President and CEO centred around three key topics:

  • TICO continues its collaboration with the Ministry of Government and Consumer Services on proposed regulatory updates for the sector. TICO’s focus continues to be enhancing consumer protection, while reducing burden on businesses and increasing regulatory efficiencies. TICO will continue to update Ontario’s travel sector as further information becomes available.
  • TICO’s latest consumer awareness campaign reached new heights with a predominantly digital campaign that included video, online ads, placements at Yonge Dundas Square and Toronto’s PATH network, and more. The star of the campaign was a life-sized Asterisk, representing any missed details that could derail a consumer’s travel plans. The marketing campaign encourages consumers to book their travel with a TICO-registered travel agency or website. To see the latest videos, click here.
  • A prior governance review recommended reducing TICO’s Board of Directors from 15 to 11 members. That change took effect following Tuesday’s AGM. TICO welcomed three new Directors and said farewell to seven outgoing Directors.

Following TICO’s AGM, the Board of Directors named Jean Hébert as Chair and Scott Stewart as the Vice-Chair of the Board. Both Mr. Hébert and Mr. Stewart are Ministerial appointees to TICO’s Board. The Chair appointment is for three years, while the Vice-Chair appointment is for one year. 

The following individuals were appointed to TICO’s Board of Directors:

  • Ted Goldenberg – Ontario Motor Coach Association (OMCA)
  • Sherry Scott – Association of Canadian Travel Agencies (ACTA)
  • Scott Stewart – Ministerial appointee
  • Leanna Villella – Ministerial appointee

The AGM was also an opportunity to recognize the commitment and impact of seven outgoing Directors:

  • Khatera Akbari
  • Jim Diebel
  • Louise Gardiner
  • Warren Kanagaratnam
  • Lorraine Nowina
  • Richard Vanderlubbe
  • Brett Walker

“Directors make a lasting contribution to TICO and to Ontario’s travel industry more broadly,” said TICO Chair Jean Hébert. “I would like to extend my gratitude to TICO’s Board of Directors, and to our outgoing Directors, who have shown tremendous commitment to oversight of TICO and its important consumer protection mandate.”

Formed in 1997, TICO is a not-for-profit corporation wholly financed by Ontario-registered travel agents and wholesalers. It administers the Travel Industry Act, 2002 and the Ontario Travel Industry Compensation Fund. TICO may be contacted at (905) 624-6241 or 1-888-451-TICO. Visit TICO’s website at www.tico.ca or email TICO at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..


Media contact:

Kristina Wilson
Stakeholder Relations Manager